BEA'S BOOK NOOK "I can't imagine a man really enjoying a book and reading it only once." C. S. Lewis “If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all.” ― Oscar Wilde

Thursday, June 22, 2017

Review & Giveaway: Lost and Found Sisters by Jill Shalvis

Review, Giveaway, Lost and Found Sisters, Jill Shalvis, Bea's Book Nook
Series: Wildstone #1
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Source: the publisher in exchange for an honest review
Release Date:  June 20th 2017
Buying Links: Amazon* | Book Depository* | iTunes | IndieBound | Barnes & Noble | GooglePlay | Kobo
* affiliate links; the blog receives a small commission from purchases made through these links.

Blurb from goodreads:

From New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis comes her first women's fiction novel—an unforgettable story of friendship, love, family, and sisterhood—perfect for fans of Colleen Hoover, Susan Mallery, and Kristan Higgins.

They say life can change in an instant…

After losing her sister in a devastating car accident, chef Quinn Weller is finally getting her life back on track. She appears to have it all: a loving family, a dream job in one of L.A.'s hottest eateries, and a gorgeous boyfriend dying to slip an engagement ring on her finger. So why does she feel so empty, like she's looking for a missing piece she can't find?

The answer comes when a lawyer tracks down Quinn and reveals a bombshell secret and a mysterious inheritance that only she can claim. This shocking revelation washes over Quinn like a tidal wave. Her whole life has been a lie.

On impulse, Quinn gives up her job, home, and boyfriend. She heads up the coast to the small hometown of Wildstone, California, which is just a few hours north, but feels worlds apart from Los Angeles. Though she doesn't quite fit in right away, she can't help but be drawn to the town’s simple pleasures…and the handsome, dark-haired stranger who offers friendship with no questions asked.

As Quinn settles into Wildstone, she discovers there's another surprise in store for her. The inheritance isn't a house or money, but rather something earthshattering, something that will make her question everything she thought she knew about herself, about her family. Now with a world of possibilities opening up to Quinn, she must decide if this new life is the one she was always meant to have—and the one that could finally give her the fulfillment she's searched so long for.

Bea's Thoughts:

I was excited when I first heard about this book. The blurb sounded so good and I do like women's fiction even though I don't read it much these days. What I got was a mix of women's fiction and romance.

Quinn is, or was, the oldest child then her younger sister Beth died in a car accident. Ever since, Quinn's emotions have been frozen. She's distanced herself from her parents and her off-and-on boyfriend. Then her life is turned upside down and she finds herself questioning everything she believed or thought she knew about herself. She takes a leave of absence from her job as a sous-chef and heads off to figure out her life. She meets up with Mitch, a man who grew up in Wildstone and left as soon as he could. He's drawn back however by his mother and her needs.

Mitch was almost too good to be true. Right from the beginning he instinctively understands Quinn and is amazingly patient with her. He's patient and understanding with his friends, and even with an ex-girlfriend. He is, however, less patient with his mother. She needs help keeping up her house, he has lots of ideas and plans but doesn't always listen. Additionally, she's keen for him to marry and give her grandkids. Mitch is less eager, though not opposed to the idea; he'd rather do it on his terms and his timeline, and not his mother's. And while he's a kind and compassionate man, he doesn't sugarcoat things but tells them as they are, though in a nice way.

 Mitch helps Quinn as she deals with all of the changes in her life and encourages her to make changes and take chances. Together, they help each other, have some fun along the way and develop feelings for each other. As I mentioned earlier, I was surprised at how much romance there was in a story billed as women's fiction. Not that women's fiction doesn't have romance, it's usually secondary to the story and not a major part of the story as it was here.

As Quinn deals with the new relationships in her life, she has to decide just how far she's willing to let people in, and whether she's ready to feel again and break the frozen wall around her emotions. The story is primarily Quinn's though we do spend some time in Mitch's head. It's also a story of relationships, choices, and secrets. Actions and decisions have consequences and they often effect more than just the person making the decision. The consequences can ripple for years into the future.

Shalvis didn't forget the secondary characters. They're quirky, if sometimes a little too much; nosy; and helpful. They provide flavor and color, and more importantly, help Quinn and Mitch, on their journeys. There's a subplot running through the story that picks ups steam towards the end, and then boom! In a heartbeat, it's wrapped up and handed to the reader in a neat package. That was disappointing. I'd have preferred to see the book extended and have that plot line properly dealt with or have it extend into the next book. That would have worked as it was a thread that affected the whole town and not just Quinn and Mitch. 

About Jill Shalvis:

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jill Shalvis lives in a small town in the Sierras full of quirky characters. Any resemblance to the quirky characters in her books is, um, mostly coincidental. Look for Jill’s sexy contemporary and award-winning books wherever romances are sold and click on the blog link below for a complete book list and daily blog detailing her city-girl-living-in-the-mountains adventures.

Find Jill Online:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Newsletter SignUp

The publisher is giving away 1 print copy to a US or CA reader. No purchase necessary. Must be 18 years or older to enter. Please read my Giveaway policy and Privacy policy.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

19 comments:

  1. Thanks for the post! I am a fan of Ms. Shalvis and I love that she has added a more complex dynamic to her signature storytelling! Thanks for the chance to win! =D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was a little deeper than her romances but still had her humor and quirkiness.

      Delete
  2. Thanks for your excellent review and this great feature and giveaway. I have read several of Jill's books and enjoy womens fiction.

    ReplyDelete
  3. This is a great review! She is one of my auto-buy authors and I'm really looking forward to reading this new one.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks! I enjoyed it, especially after I revised my expectation from pure womens fiction to a romance/womens fiction blend.

      Delete
  4. I love Ms. Shalvis's work, and I would love to read Lost and Found Sisters!

    skkorman AT bellsouth DOT net

    ReplyDelete
  5. I love that cover!! A dog on the beach is a sure way to draw me in!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, I'm a sucker for dogs on covers too. :D

      Delete
  6. I can see a bit of Quinn in my own life. I've never felt comfortable in anything I did or tried to do. I don't trust easily either. I'd love to add this book to my collection of Contemporary reads and Women's fiction.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks for sharing NoraA; trust can certainly be a challenge, especially as we get more experienced.

      Good luck with the giveaway!

      Delete
  7. I'm a huge fan of Shalvis' books and was really excited to see a book in more of a Women's fiction genre. That's too bad about the subplot but the rest of it sounds so good! Thanks for hosting the giveaway.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was good, I enjoyed the book. Thanks for visiting again :)

      Delete
  8. Have heard wonderful things about this new book, can't wait to read it!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Hmmm...I like Shalvis and will be looking forward to seeing how this compares to her other books.

    ReplyDelete
  10. I love the cover and I love your review, too! I've heard such great things about Ms. Shalvis on so many blogs that I know I must try her, and this book is pulling me in.

    Thanks for the post and for the opportunity to enter (I don't use twitter-- sorry, I couldn't follow you and the author there). To everyone else here, enjoy it when you get to read it.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for taking the time to comment. I enjoy hearing from my readers. Let's talk!